Niamh L Very responsive
Tutoring near Carlton & Melbourne, Melbourne, Victoria

Verified mobile

Rate

$45 per hour

Services

  • One-to-one tuition
  • Group tuition
  • Home visits
  • Phone help
  • Online help

Subjects

Year 7
  • English
  • History
  • Latin
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Year 8
  • English
  • History
  • Latin
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Year 9
  • English
  • History
  • Latin
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Year 10
  • English
  • History
  • Latin
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Year 11
  • Biology Unit 1
  • Biology Unit 2
  • Biology Unit 3
  • Biology Unit 4
  • Chemistry Unit 1
  • Chemistry Unit 2
  • Chemistry Unit 3
  • Chemistry Unit 4
  • English Language Unit 1
  • English Language Unit 2
  • English Language Unit 3
  • English Language Unit 4
  • English Literature Unit 1
  • English Literature Unit 2
  • English Literature Unit 3
  • English Literature Unit 4
  • English Unit 1
  • English Unit 2
  • English Unit 3
  • English Unit 4
  • English: Foundation Unit 1
  • English: Foundation Unit 2
  • Latin
  • Mathematics: Foundation Unit 1
  • Mathematics: Foundation Unit 2
  • Mathematics: General Mathematics Unit 1
  • Mathematics: General Mathematics Unit 2
  • Mathematics: Mathematical Methods (CAS) Unit 1
  • Mathematics: Mathematical Methods (CAS) Unit 2
  • Mathematics: Mathematical Methods (CAS) Unit 3
  • Mathematics: Mathematical Methods (CAS) Unit 4
Year 12
  • Biology Unit 1
  • Biology Unit 2
  • Biology Unit 3
  • Biology Unit 4
  • Chemistry Unit 1
  • Chemistry Unit 2
  • Chemistry Unit 3
  • Chemistry Unit 4
  • English Language Unit 1
  • English Language Unit 2
  • English Language Unit 3
  • English Language Unit 4
  • English Literature Unit 1
  • English Literature Unit 2
  • English Literature Unit 3
  • English Literature Unit 4
  • English Unit 1
  • English Unit 2
  • English Unit 3
  • English Unit 4
  • English: Foundation Unit 1
  • English: Foundation Unit 2
  • Latin
  • Mathematics: Foundation Unit 1
  • Mathematics: Foundation Unit 2
  • Mathematics: General Mathematics Unit 1
  • Mathematics: General Mathematics Unit 2
  • Mathematics: Mathematical Methods (CAS) Unit 1
  • Mathematics: Mathematical Methods (CAS) Unit 2
  • Mathematics: Mathematical Methods (CAS) Unit 3
  • Mathematics: Mathematical Methods (CAS) Unit 4

About

*REMOTE TUTORING AVAILABLE ACROSS AUSTRALIA VIA SKYPE/FACETIME WITH WHITEBOARD TECHNOLOGY*

Hi! My name is Niamh and I am studying at The University of Melbourne. I tutor Latin, English, English Extension, Mathematics, Chemistry, and Physics. My aim is to help you build upon your understanding of fundamental concepts and how you develop and approach your ideas and academic strategies, rather than relying on rote learning.

I graduated year 12 at Brisbane Girls Grammar last year. I studied English, English Extension, Mathematics B, Latin, Chemistry, and Physics.

At Girls Grammar I frequently have had the opportunity to work closely with other students both in my role as a 2019 Prefect and participating in a ‘Study Buddies’ program to aid students in younger year levels. I am a genuine and positive person who is able to communicate across a range of age levels.

As someone who has undergone the high school assessment process, I understand the pressures students are facing to do well academically whilst also balancing other commitments. At school I compete in sports such as softball and badminton, and also participate in several clubs, so I therefore understand the value of being able to complete homework and assignments quickly and efficiently.

As I have completed part of my education (my GCSEs) in England, I am also able to help students with both assignment work and external examination preparation because I have grown up with both.

With this in mind I feel I can offer the following to other students:

• General help with homework
• Understanding of content
• Strategies for assignments, revision and exams
• Essay writing

The subjects which I am able to offer tutoring for include:
• English (Yr 7 – 12)
• Latin (Yr 7 - 12)
• Biology (Yr 10 - 11)
• Science (Yr 7 – 10)
• Maths (Yr 7 – 10)

Achievements

  • * OP 1 (ATAR 99)
  • * BGGS Academic Merit Award 2019
  • * School Prefect 2019
  • * BGGS Outstanding Academic Award 2018
  • * Summa Cum Laude in National Latin Examination 2018
  • * High Distinction in ANCQ Chemistry Quiz 2018
  • * Merit Achievement in Chemistry Olympiad 2018
  • * Merit Achievement in Biology Olympiad 2018
  • * First in Subject Award (English Literature) 2017
  • * First in Subject Award (History) 2017
  • * First in Subject Award (Biology) 2017

Education

Year 12 completed in 2019.
Mark achieved: 99.00.
Currently studying Bachelor of Arts at University of Melbourne.

Interests

  • Swimming
  • Running
  • Softball
  • Badminton

Reviews

Write a review

Character references

Write a reference

Availability

Around Carlton

Monday 2:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Friday 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Saturday 7:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Around Melbourne

Travel policy

I’m mainly available for tutoring around the CBD and inner suburbs, including home visits or public libraries. I can also travel to further-out suburbs depending on my availability and what is most convenient for parents or students. I often do a few sessions over Skype for students that live further away, to see if the tutoring is beneficial before either parties commit to longer distance travel. Please feel free to contact me if you have any queries!