Makai B.
Tutoring near Cheltenham, Melbourne, VIC & Clayton, Melbourne, VIC & Upper Ferntree Gully, Melbourne, VIC

Makai has

Verified mobile
Verified marks


$50 per hour


  • One-to-one tuition
  • Phone help
  • Online help
  • In person


Hi! My name is Makai and I’m a 4th year student at Monash University studying the Bachelor of Science Advanced - Research (Honours). I’m majoring in Physics and Pure Mathematics with a minor in Computational Science with a WAM (weighted average mark) of 90. I have marks over 90 in all third year physics and mathematics studies, as well as programming. Also, I am fluent in Python. I have received awards for my academic performance, such as the Dean’s list award and the William A. Rachinger prize for the best student in experimental physics, both from Monash University. In high school, I received an ATAR of 98.30. I received a study score of 50 in specialist maths, 44 in math methods, 43 in literature, and 41 in physics. I also studied first-year mathematics at the University of Melbourne during year 12 and received a final mark equivalent to a raw study score of 45. Outside of my studies, I’m heavily involved in research with Monash University’s physics department, focusing on using gravitational waves to examine black holes and neutron stars. I have been a visiting researcher at the Harvard-Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory, UNSW, and Swinburne University. Furthermore, I have been a part of two highly selective leadership programs with Monash University - namely, Monash Minds and the Science Future Leaders program. These flagship programs are designed to instil the ability to lead and teach leadership to others. With my experience in secondary and tertiary level mathematics and science, I am able to provide the foundations and assets required to score highly in VCE as well as a more in depth knowledge to extend the content. I prioritise students engagement with the content, hoping to inspire real curiosity and excellence in the subject matter. I am also an avid volleyball and soccer player! You can typically catch me at the Monash gym doing one or the other. I used to be a skateboarder, but got injured too many times 😅.


Year 12 completed in 2020.
Mark achieved: 98.30 (verified).
Currently studying Bachelor of Science Advanced - Research (Honours) at Monash University.


Character references


Around Cheltenham

Around Clayton

Around Upper Ferntree Gully