Josh W
Tutoring near Strathpine, Brisbane, QLD & Brisbane City, Brisbane, QLD


About

*Note: UCAT tutoring now available

Year 12 student looking to tutor younger students. Hard-working and determined student who has consistently achieved high marks at school. Passionate for STEM (Science - Technology- Engineering - Mathematics) based subjects and wishing to pursure medicine after school. Aiming to build healthy relationships with students while working towards realistic goals. Also a cheerful and social person who is comfortable with one-on-one or small group sessions.

My current school subjects include English, Mathematical Methods (Math B), Specialist Mathematics (Math C), Physics, Chemistry and Biology. I average a 5 GPA (on a five-point scale). My strongest subject is Mathematical Methods, hence why I would love to tutor maths to younger kids - I know what I am doing and can provide strategies that I personally use.

In terms of what I can offer, I can assist with homework, assignments, exam preparation or just subject matter in general. My rates are constant and I am happy to help in any way I can.

So, why choose me?
• I offer a competitive hourly rate
• I achieve well in school and have a good understanding of STEM subjects
• I am a high UCAT scorer
• I am flexible with teaching styles
• I have experience with tutoring
• I’ve always been passionate for Maths and Science and I love helping others

Achievements

  • State Parliamentarian's Award [Dux equivalent](2019)
  • 90th+ Percentile UCAT scorer (2020)
  • Achievement Award [>4/6 A's](2019)
  • Excellence Award in Specialist Mathematics [Math C] (2019)
  • Excellence Award in Physics (2019)
  • Excellence Award in English (2019)
  • Excellence Award in Biology (2019)
  • High Distinction on the ANCQ (Australian National Chemistry Quiz)(2018)
  • Shrii Prasad Award [highest overall achiever in Maths for cohort] (2017)

Education

Year 11 student.
Currently studying at Pine Rivers State High School.

Interests

  • Chess
  • Learning
  • Teaching
  • Watersports
  • Beach
  • Ice Skating
  • Roller Skating

Reviews

Josh has been tutoring my Year 5 Daughter in Maths for several weeks now, she has shown signs of improvement in her Learning in just a short amount of time.
Josh has been a wonderful source of mentoring for my daughter. He is reliable, dedicated, very flexible in his teaching - making it fun and interactive and has kept my daughter interested in learning for the whole 1.5 hours we have Josh booked for.
I would highly recommend him to anyone looking for an honest, down to earth person and tutor, who is extremely reasonable in his rates.

11/10 stars!!
- By Erica F on 26th November 2019

Character references

Availability

Around Strathpine

Sunday 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Monday 3:30 PM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday 3:30 PM - 7:00 PM
Wednesday 3:30 PM - 7:00 PM
Thursday 3:30 PM - 7:00 PM
Friday 3:30 PM - 7:00 PM
Saturday 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Around Brisbane City

Sunday 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Monday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Wednesday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Thursday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Friday 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Saturday 10:00 AM - 3:00 PM

Travel policy

An additional $5 may be charged for certain locations.