Stuart S Very responsive
Tutoring near Wallsend NSW


About

Hey there!

I'm a research scientist with a doctorate in experimental nuclear physics specializing in mathematics and science tutoring with over 5 years of teaching experience.

In general my rates are:
$50/hr for one on one tutoring for years 10-12
$40/hr for one on one tutoring for years 7-9
$35/hr for one on one tutoring for years 1-6
$30/hr PER student for group sessions
($60/hr for one on one tutoring for extension subjects and IB level courses)

There are discounts for multiple sessions per week when available.

My name is Stuart, I'm 28 years old and I am a scientific researcher in physics, specializing in experimental nuclear physics. I completed my Doctoral degree in 2017 at the University of Manchester in the UK. Upon completion of my doctoral degree, I moved to Finland where I was employed as a postdoctoral researcher in the nuclear spectroscopy group at the University of Jyväskylä.

During the course of my academic career I have been fortunate to travel the world and work at a number of laboratories spanning 4 continents. In addition to the research, I have experience teaching a wide range of students, ranging from early secondary school students to postgraduate students studying for their doctoral degrees.

My general approach to tutoring is to find the method that best suits each individual. In many instances, helping a student find the best way of learning for them is the first step to seeing them flourish. I have a huge collection of personal notes for topics that students often find extremely helpful in addition to the mountains of practice problems and exam style questions I have that ensure that every student is fully prepared come assessment day.

Generally I prefer home visits but I am also able to tutor students at my home if that is preferable. I am also available to offer remote services such as proof reading, assistance in creation of study aids and video conferencing for presentations at an additional cost.

I would like to meet for an introductory session (typically half an hour or so, $30) where we can meet and discuss preferred methods and learning objectives and see if it is a good fit moving forwards. Choosing the right tutor is equally as important in making the decision to get tutoring in the first place.

I offer set hours week, however extra sessions may be requested at particularly busy periods when deadlines approach or during exam season. I will do my best to accommodate the needs of each individual student.

Please feel free to get in touch if you have any further questions or would like to arrange a meeting.

Cheers,
Stuart

Achievements

  • Doctorate in Experimental Nuclear Physics
  • First Class Honours degree in Theoretical Physics
  • Presenting at an international conference at CERN
  • Grade 8 classical guitar
  • Moving to Australia!

Education

Doctoral degree in Experimental Nuclear Physics (2014-2017) at the University of Manchester, UK.

MPhys (Hons) Physics with Theoretical Physics - First Class (2010-2014) at the University of Manchester, UK.

Interests

  • Travelling
  • Cycling
  • Weightlifting
  • Enjoying good food
  • Playing guitar

Reviews

Character references

Availability

Around Wallsend

Sunday 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday 7:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday 5:30 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Travel policy

I prefer to do home visits so I am happy to travel to you as long as it is within a reasonable distance. I can also accommodate students at my own house if that is preferable.