Gail B
Tutoring near Southport & Brisbane, Gold Coast, Queensland

Verified mobile
Reviews

Rate

$70 per hour

Services

  • One-to-one tuition
  • Group tuition
  • Home visits
  • Online help (Skype)

Subjects

Year 7
  • Science
Year 8
  • Science
Year 9
  • Science
Year 10
  • Science
Year 11
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
Year 12
  • Biology
  • Chemistry
Year 13
  • Biology
  • Chemistry

About

My Qualifications and Experience

I am a fully qualified science teacher (UK QTS/PGCE) and PhD, and professional tutor. I specialise in teaching Year 11 and 12 Chemistry and Biology and preparing students for Year 12 external chemistry and biology exams. I also tutor Year 7-10 Chemistry, Biology and Physics.

I have been self employed as a Professional Tutor since 2016 and love my self-employment and the freedom it gives me to offer students individual, tailored help to succeed in senior science. I have helped my students achieve the high grades they often need for university entrance and many have gone on to vet school, medical school, and top universities. I look forward to helping many more students achieve exam success.

I have experience of tutoring the new Queensland and New South Wales (Stage 6) senior specifications, and of teaching and tutoring at junior and senior secondary levels across several UK exam boards including AQA, OCR (Oxford, Cambridge and RSA Examinations), CIE (University of Cambridge), and Edexcel specifications.

My Tutoring Offer

I offer individual tuition on a 1:1 basis and also small tutorials of 2 to 3 students in the same year group, following the same specification - often friends who like to learn together.

My tutoring approach is exam-based and tailored to the learning needs of each student to extend their knowledge and build confidence and critical reasoning skills. I use exam questions and teaching slide decks to teach and test the specification and to build ability to think through and answer exam questions to a high standard. I aim to support students to develop the mastery and resilience they need to explore and resolve unfamiliar problems in science and prepare effectively for the challenges they face in final year assignment, especially in external exams.

Tutoring sessions can be short term, focusing on specific areas of the syllabus or difficulties in understanding, or long term to help students achieve top grades and/or those who are struggling to learn successfully in class. I also provide intensive exam coaching immediately before exams to help students achieve the grades they need.

Sessions are weekly, face to face, and carried out in the students’ home. They can also be online.

My fees

Tutoring sessions cost $65/hour. A travel fee of $10/session is also charged where the distance traveled to your home is over 20 km. This fee may be higher where the distance traveled is longer but is always negotiable for long term tutoring arrangements.

My Tutoring Locations

I am based in Mudgeeraba but happy to travel to students in South Brisbane and across the Gold Coast and Northern Rivers (NSW). Please get in touch if you are unsure whether I will travel to your home. I will do my best to help if I can.

Education

UK qualified science teacher (QTS/PGCE) University of Gloucestershire

PhD University of London

BA (Hons) University of London 1st Class

Interests

  • Travelling
  • Art and Design
  • Photography
  • History and Politics

Reviews

Gail started tutoring my son with Year 11/12 Biology and Chemistry lately, and it is lovely to have Gail as a tutor because Gail has teaching skills together with the subject knowledge. Gail is dedicated to her tutoring, and she assigns homework for my son on time and follows up them in the next lesson. Gail is very professional in her job, and I am pleased to have her as my son's tutor for the rest of his Year 12, and my son is also happy to have Gail as his tutor.
- By N. Jayalath on 15th January 2020

Write a review

Character references

Write a reference

Availability

Around Southport

Sunday 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday 8:00 AM - 7:30 PM
Tuesday 8:00 AM - 7:30 PM
Wednesday 8:00 AM - 7:30 PM
Thursday 8:00 AM - 7:30 PM
Friday 8:00 AM - 7:30 PM
Saturday 7:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Around Brisbane

Sunday 10:00 AM - 3:30 PM
Monday 10:00 AM - 3:30 PM
Tuesday 10:00 AM - 7:30 PM
Wednesday 10:00 AM - 7:30 PM
Thursday 10:00 AM - 7:30 PM
Friday 10:00 AM - 1:00 PM
Saturday 8:00 AM - 12:00 PM

Travel policy

I am based in Mudgeeraba but happy to travel to students in South Brisbane and across the Gold Coast and Northern Rivers (NSW). Please get in touch if you are unsure whether I will travel to your home. I will do my best to help if I can.