Matthew B VERY RESPONSIVE
Tutoring near Hawthorn, Melbourne, Victoria

Verified mobile
Verified marks

Availability

Around Hawthorn

Sunday 9:00 AM - 3:00 PM
Monday 3:45 PM - 7:00 PM
Tuesday 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Wednesday 3:45 PM - 7:00 PM
Thursday 1:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Friday 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Saturday 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Travel policy

I live close to the 48, 75 and 109 trams, and can access the Lillydale/Blackburn train lines reasonably easily. I would be best suited to tutor students with easy access to these, or those reasonably close to where I live, however if travel time is notable to your house a small additional fee may be required. I would also consider tutoring from my house, if that were preferred by students.

About

ATAR: 99.35. Subject raw scores: Global Politics (49), English Language (47), History Revolutions (45), Chemistry (43), Maths Methods in year 11 (40) and Psychology (38). Despite academic success I always found the most joy and value in my work outside the classroom, like debating, coaching and basketball. Alongside academis, these activities helped me to learn how to manage people and myself, assist them in learning new ideas and have given me a broader set of skills than those found in an often linear schooling system.

I enjoy history, politics, and linguistics a little too much sometimes, so I’d love to tutor in these, but I’d be more than happy to work with you on chemistry, maths and psych as I also got a lot out of these. I also had the privilege of an exceptional chem teacher, who was great in helping me hone my abilities.

Throughout my time in school I’ve had academic and broader success, I’ve really enjoyed a handful of teaching roles (debating coaching, reading mentoring) that I’ve been taken on and have had extensive experience teaching my friends and classmates – especially in the subjects I enjoy most. My tutoring in Pol, Eng lang and Revs also comes with assessment-targeted comprehensive notes that helped me score highly in these subjects.

Moreover, my greatest challenge last year was ensuring that the work I was producing was of the type that VCAA expected. VCE is a game with its own rules, which can be especially hard to identify in the humanities, so I’d really like to share the work and insights that I learnt from my tough year to make yours a little easier.

For younger students, I have a mind for breaking down concepts and explaining them, I’d be in a position to easily assist them with their work and build concepts sequentially, while also potentially showing them why they need to know it or where it might be leading in a year or so.

School can be a comprehensive challenge, especially without direction, Yr 12 was both my best and worst year and I’d love to share some of my experiences and tips on how to manage work, life and staying sane.

Achievements

  • Henry Meeks Gold Medal for Leadership, Scholarship and Co-curricular activity
  • ADF Long Tan Award for Teamwork and Leadership
  • Melbourne Uni Principle's Scholarship
  • Prize for Global Politics, Debating, Academic excellence and House Colours
  • School Community Captain and School Debating Captain
  • Participated in UN Youth Australia's Young Diplomat's Tour 2019

Education

Year 12 completed in 2018.
Mark achieved: 99.35 (verified).
Currently studying Bachelor of arts at University of Melbourne.

Interests

  • Reading (Fantasy!)
  • Video games (strategy/history)
  • Basketball
  • Running/Riding
  • Camping/General Travel
  • Politics, history, philosophy and a handful of other nerdy niches

Reviews

Write a review

Character references

Write a reference

Rates

$50 per hour

Services

  • One-to-one tuition
  • Group tuition
  • Online help (Skype)

Subjects

Year 7
  • English
  • Geography
  • History
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Year 8
  • English
  • Geography
  • History
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Year 9
  • English
  • Geography
  • History
  • Interpersonal Development
  • Science
Year 10
  • English
  • History
  • Interpersonal Development
  • Mathematics
  • Science
Year 12
  • Chemistry Unit 1
  • Chemistry Unit 2
  • Chemistry Unit 3
  • Chemistry Unit 4
  • English Language Unit 1
  • English Language Unit 2
  • English Language Unit 3
  • English Language Unit 4
  • History: 20th Century History Unit 1
  • History: 20th Century History Unit 2
  • History: Revolutions Unit 1
  • History: Revolutions Unit 2
  • International Politics Unit 1
  • International Politics Unit 2
  • International Politics: International Studies Unit 1
  • International Politics: International Studies Unit 2
  • Mathematics: Mathematical Methods (CAS) Unit 1
  • Mathematics: Mathematical Methods (CAS) Unit 2
  • Psychology Unit 1
  • Psychology Unit 2
  • Psychology Unit 3
  • Psychology Unit 4