Jessica N
Tutoring near West Wollongong, Wollongong, New South Wales

Availability

Around West Wollongong

Sunday 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Monday 5:30 PM - 8:00 PM
Tuesday 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Wednesday 9:00 AM - 8:00 PM
Thursday 2:30 PM - 4:00 PM
Friday 1:30 PM - 4:00 PM
Saturday 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Travel policy

While I would prefer to tutor in the library of the University of Wollongong, I can make home visits anywhere in the Wollongong region if that suits your lifestyle better. I am typically available on weekday afternoons and evenings, depending on my university timetable. Don't hesitate to contact me for availabilities and any further questions.

About

Hi, my name is Jess and I am currently enrolled in the Bachelor of Mathematics Education (Dean’s Scholar) having been accepted into this degree at the start of 2017. During my first two years of study, I have achieved many strong results in a number of subjects, culminating in a number of High Distinction and Distinction grades. I have also been successful in receiving several academic scholarships (Secondary Mathematics Scholarship, Teach.NSW) and have received multiple prestigious university academic awards (Dean’s Scholar Award, Secondary Mathematics Scholarship Award). Furthermore, during my HSC year at High School I received multiple academic accomplishments: DUX Award, ranked first in Advanced and Extension Mathematics, Advanced and Extension English, Chemistry and Biology, the Certificate of Excellence Award and the School Vice-Captain.

While I am an enthusiastic, confident and creative mathematician, I also have a strong commitment to teaching. An enthusiasm for learning and deep commitment to humanity and making a difference in the lives of the next generation, are a few of many reasons, I have developed to becoming an educator. I value education and equality and thus, am inspired and motivated in becoming a stable role model and educator that will shape the future of our children. I hope to cultivate my love of learning and mathematics and instil this into my students. I look forward to having the opportunity to transfer this passion, curiosity and improved results and possibly obtaining various insights and perspectives in return.

I have close to two years’ experience with tutoring high school students of differing ages and academic capabilities. I have additionally had active experience in teaching mathematics in a high school classroom, working as a swim instructor and currently working as an intern at Science Space. During this time, I have strengthened and developed vital skills such as; understanding, patience, communication skills, compassion, determination, friendliness and flexibility depending on each child’s individual values, feelings, motivations and academic needs. I aim to instil such skills, including confidence, self-motivation and an enthusiasm for mathematics and learning, in all my students. I also have a valid Working With Children’s Check.

If you have any additional questions or comments, feel free to contact me.

Achievements

  • Dean’s Scholar Award
  • Secondary Mathematics Scholarship Award
  • Teach.NSW Scholarship
  • Selection of High Distinction and Distinction grades in education and mathematics university subjects
  • Dux of Griffith High School
  • Ranked first in Advanced English, Extension English, Mathematics, Extension Mathematics, Chemistry and Biology in year 11 and 12
  • School Vice Captain

Education

Year 12 completed in 2015.
Mark achieved: 93.20.
Currently studying Bachelor of Mathematics Education (Dean's Scholar) at University of Wollongong.

Interests

  • Netball
  • Gym

Reviews

Write a review

Character references

Write a reference

Rates

$40 per hour

Services

  • One-to-one tuition
  • Group tuition
  • Home visits
  • Phone help

Subjects

  • Mathematics
  • Mathematics Extension 1
  • Mathematics Extension 2
  • Mathematics General

Tutoring students in

  • Year 12
  • Year 11
  • Year 10
  • Year 9
  • Year 8
  • Year 7