Joe B Very responsive
Tutoring near Alexandra Headland QLD


Joe has

Verified mobile

Rate

$65 per hour

Services

  • One-to-one tuition
  • Group tuition
  • Home visits
  • Phone help
  • Online help

Subjects

About

Hi there!

My name is Joe and I would like to work with you to achieve your academic ambitions.

My teaching philosophy places the student at the centre; we all learn in different ways and I strongly believe that a failure to learn can be traced back to a failure of the teacher to understand the student. I do my best to appreciate how each student best absorbs information and modify my delivery of content accordingly. I also believe in a relaxed and engaging teaching environment -- one with high standards for both tutor and student, but definitely not one to dread. If you're finding studying a constant and painful grind, you might not be going about it in the most effective way. Contrary to popular opinion, studying can be something to look forward to! If you let me, I'd like to show you how.

I'm usually a medical student at the University of Melbourne and St Vincent's Public Hospital, but in 2022 I've come back home to Brisbane for a year off between second and third year. While I'm here, I'm hoping to pick up as much tutoring as possible and share a few of the study lessons I've learned along my way. Right now in the era of COVID-19 it is a crazy time to be studying, so I understand a few of you might need some extra help.

When I was in high school (at Brisbane State High) my strengths were the Humanities, receiving the highest possible marks (VHA10) in both Philosophy & Reason and Modern History. I also achieved high marks (VHAs) in Chemistry, Maths B, and English and finished with an OP1 (ATAR 99.50). Thanks to my teachers and a very supportive family, I was also able to enjoy myself in the process, playing in the First XV rugby team, First XI cricket team, captaining the Open's AFL team, and becoming elected as School Vice Captain in my senior year.

After a 1 year exchange in Germany, I moved to Melbourne to study Arts at The University of Melbourne. I took subjects in Economics, Psychology, Political Science, History, and Philosophy -- making the Dean's Honours List twice -- before switching to Science and committing to Medicine. Again, I made sure to make time for extra-curricular activity: I played touch footy, soccer, cricket, and AFL, participated (for the first time!) in a musical, volunteered at the local community centre, was elected Student Club President of University College, and went on exchange to the University of Amsterdam. I'm only telling you this to insist that succeeding academically does not require sacrificing your life outside the classroom; in fact, I firmly believe that a rich life outside of study gives us the strength and resilience to persevere when times are tough. My job is to help you open the doors you want to walk through and keep you smiling as you go!

I tutor English, Science, Humanities, Health, and Economics. I can also help you with creative writing and university admissions. Please reach out if you'd like to team up or just ask a few more questions. I look forward to hearing from you.

Look after yourself and wash your hands!

Joe

Achievements

  • OP1/ATAR 99.50
  • GAMSAT 76 (98th percentile)
  • University College Student Club President
  • First XV Rugby
  • First XI Cricket
  • School Vice Captain
  • Modern History Senior Subject Award
  • Philosophy and Reason Senior Subject Award
  • Dean's Honours List 2016, 2017 (The University of Melbourne)

Education

Interests

  • Sport
  • Reading
  • Writing
  • Socialising
  • Music
  • Travel
  • Fitness
  • Politics

Reviews

Character references

Availability

Around Alexandra Headland