Shona A Very responsive
Tutoring near Mullumbimby NSW


About

Hi! My name is Shona and I'm primarily an English and Drama studies tutor, but I am also able to assist History and Art students with essay writing, and Spanish for Beginners as I speak Spanish after a number of years living and working in Guatemala. I am also a qualified TESOL teacher. I am able to assist students both studying through campus based education and doing home schooling or distance learning. My teaching style is very much tailored to the needs of the individual student, whether they simply need assistance writing and editing their essays or they need a strong guide to help them stay motivated and moving through self directed learning.

My love of the humanities and the creative arts started at a very early age, being an avid reader and participating in community theatre from age 9. Throughout school English, Drama and Art were always my best and favourite subjects. When I went to university I did a Bachelor of Arts where I majored in English, minored in Drama and also took numerous history, film studies, gender studies and philosophy courses. I was also very active in the drama department productions, including directing two shows myself. In 2005 I was nominated in the directing category at the City of Newcastle Drama Awards for my production of Peter Shaffer's Equus.

Outside of tutoring, I am a freelance copy/ content writer and am working on a number of my own writing projects. I am presently in the editing phase with my first novel, am compiling a collection of short stories and illustrating my own children's book. I also facilitate writing groups and run writing workshops.

I am a member of Toastmasters International and am currently the club president of my local club. I am also a volunteer with the Animal Welfare League and assist with the adoptions at the local cat shelter in my area.

In 2017 I wrote, directed and performed my own one woman show at the Butterfly Club in Melbourne. In 2009, my short story "Blood and Water" was published in Lip Magazine.

I spent nearly six years traveling the world, including cycling from England to Greece in 2014. Including getting my TESOL qualification and teaching English language classes in Central America in 2011.

I love gardening, reading, hanging out with cats, and making handmade recycled paper products. I'm also passionate about Permaculture and have developed a course on how to apply Permaculture principles to a person's art practice.

Achievements

  • Bachelor of Arts, University of Newcastle 2005, CONDA nomination for best director in an ameteur production, short story "Blood and Water" published in Lip magazine 2009, TESOL certificate 2011

Education

Bachelor of Arts, University of Newcastle 2005
TESOL certificate 2011

Interests

  • Gardening, reading, making handmade recycled paper and handmade journals, hanging out with cats

Reviews

Character references

Availability

Around Mullumbimby

Sunday 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Monday 9:00 AM - 2:00 PM
Tuesday 1:00 PM - 7:00 PM
Wednesday 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Thursday 1:00 PM - 4:00 PM
Friday 4:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Saturday 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM

Travel policy

I am able to travel to students within 20km of my location.