Gabriella L Very responsive
Tutoring near Kew, Melbourne, VIC


Rate

$60 per hour

Services

  • One-to-one tuition
  • Group tuition
  • Home visits
  • Teaching studio
  • Phone help
  • Online help

Subjects

About

Hello everyone!
My name is Gabriella, but feel free to call me Gabby, and I'm studying my Master of Mechatronics Engineering at the University of Melbourne :D I love building and learning new skills, and last year, I completed a year-long project where we built drones from scratch and automated them to fly without needing a pilot! I'm very passionate about maths and science and I absolutely love teaching these things to students and sharing this passion!

At school, I received a 44 IB score (ATAR 99.85 equivalent) and I currently hold a high H2A average in my Master degree (more details regarding my subject scores are below). I have been working as a private tutor for high school and university students for 5 years, and I have also been working as a member of staff at the University of Melbourne as a tutor and study group leader in the Engineering department for the past 3 years; this includes assessment (written and oral) and exam marking, so I have a very accurate idea of what markers are looking for in a student's work!

In my tutoring sessions, I make them exciting and engaging by placing the focus on long-term student learning and understanding by giving the student a very active role in the session. In my experience, this has been the best way for students to retain what they have learned from tutoring sessions and then take that learning into their exams! In a tutoring session, I expect the student to have questions or topics prepared that they would like to work through. While working through questions, I hand the pen to the student and talk them through the question, noting what information to look for and how to approach the question to make it seem more familiar and less daunting, and providing prompts to help the student figure their way through the question. If the student is really struggling, I am happy to show them how I would solve the problem, and then I provide them with another, similar, question for them to do, with my prompting if needed, in order to consolidate that knowledge. While it's important to learn how to solve a question, I also pay attention to: the understanding and context behind the question, as this piques interest by showing why such questions may be important in the bigger picture; and how to write out an answer and the steps involved such that a marker gives the solution full marks. I also make sure that the tutoring session is a very positive experience for the student, and I focus on positive reinforcement and love to celebrate when a student succeeds or makes progress of any kind!!

At school, I completed the IB program in 2014 and received a mark of 44 (ATAR equivalent of 99.85), with a 7/7 score in High Level Maths, Physics and Chemistry; a 7/7 Score in Standard Level Information Technology in a Global Society, Spanish Ab Initio; a 6/7 Score in Standard Level English Literature; and a 3/3 score for my Theory of Knowledge essay and oral presentation and my Extended Essay in Physics.

At university, I have completed my Bachelor of Science degree with a major in Mechatronics Systems and I am currently in my Master of Mechatronics Engineering. Some of the subjects I have studied include: Accelerated Mathematics 1 and 2, Advanced Physics 1 and 2, Quantum and Thermal Physics, Astrophysics, and subjects in Electrical, Mechanical, and Software Engineering, including programming in various languages!

If you have any further questions about my teaching style, qualifications, or anything else related, please send me a message and I am happy to talk about this with you further.

Achievements

  • Boeing Award for Most Innovative Project in Aerospace, Mechanical, Energy Conservation, or Software Engineering (2019)
  • Prize for Independent Thought (2014)
  • Dux Secundi Award (2015)
  • Robotics Study Abroad 4-Week Program (2018)
  • Summer Vacation Scholarship Program with Defence Science and Technology (2018-2019)
  • Certified Canadian Ski Instructor CSIA Level 1 (2016)
  • Former Certified Zumba Instructor (2015-2020)
  • Board Member of Knox Rotaract (2020)

Education

Year 12 completed in 2014.
Mark achieved: 99.85.
Currently studying Master of Mechatronics Engineering at University of Melbourne.

Interests

  • Travel
  • Fitness and Sport
  • Tabletop and Video Gaming
  • Music and Piano
  • Electronics Projects
  • Seeing Friends
  • Reading

Reviews

Character references

Availability

Around Kew

Sunday 9:00 AM - 5:30 PM
Monday 9:00 AM - 8:30 PM
Tuesday 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday 9:00 AM - 8:30 PM
Thursday 3:00 PM - 6:00 PM
Friday 9:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Saturday 8:00 AM - 5:00 PM

Travel policy

Happy to travel for up to 15mins free of charge! After that, it will cost an additional $5 per 15mins of travel, depending on travel distance, to cover petrol and time.