Siobhan H Very responsive
Tutoring near Elsternwick, Melbourne, VIC & Parkville, Melbourne, VIC


Siobhan has

Rate

$50 per hour

Services

  • One-to-one tuition
  • Group tuition
  • Home visits
  • Phone help
  • Online help

Subjects

About

I'm Siobhan and I am currently studying to be a secondary English teacher at the University of Melbourne.

I studied a Bachelor of Arts with a major in English Literature at The University of Melbourne which has prepared me to study a Master of Teaching (Secondary) between 2019 - 2020 with the Learning Areas/Specialisations of English and Humanities.

Having a strong background in English and always loving English at school as a subject, while equally working first hand with children through many child care and related industries (I used to work in OSHC at primary schools and kindergartens), this is what lead me to decide to study teaching at University and become an English teacher. I would love the opportunity in a tutoring opportunity such as this to gain formal and first-hand experience with teaching and lesson planning as I study concurrently to become a qualified teacher. I went to high school at Elwood College and have lived in the area my whole life. I love spending time at the beach.

As a Master of Teaching student at Melbourne University, teaching is my true passion and ideal career in life. Along with my interpersonal and leadership skills developed through my work in child care and retail, I believe I would be the ideal person for this job. I would love the opportunity to apply my knowledge and passion of English teaching. I always loved school and see the true value of education and schooling in forming balanced individuals. Adolescence in particular is a very formative time in development and I believe teaching is integral to shaping people to be who they will be in the future. I would work hard to not only improve student’s abilities but also help them to develop an appreciation for English which I sought in my own schooling. I believe that a true appreciation of texts and their valuable lessons is what leads to a deeper understanding and therefore better grades.

Additionally, I also believe the other practical experience I have in other job industries could be useful in this tutoring role. Strong communicative, interpersonal and leaderships skills that I have demonstrated through my previous work experience in retail would be integral to this position. I believe the most effective way to reach a student is by connecting with them and garnering their trust and respect. One of my key roles at Gorman Clothing, in my previous retail experience, was to connect with customers to help meet their specific needs. Recently, a customer came in who was after an outfit for a person’s wedding, but she didn’t really like the bride. Obviously, this was a situation which has awkward connotations and the best way to assist the customer is to make them feel comfortable and build trust. I was able to effectively communicate and behave in a manner which made the customer feel comfortable and at ease. I believe instances such as this demonstrate my strong interpersonal and communicative skills which are vital for tutoring and teaching. My tenacity to persist with customers would mirror my approach towards students who may have difficulty with subject matter or pre-conceived perceptions of their own abilities. My leadership skills in negotiating this situation to overcome the customer’s pre-conceived notions and immediate attitudes would also be important within this tutoring opportunity. And finally, my experience in studying teaching and working in childcare would make me the ideal candidate for the job.

I also currently work for Melbourne Uni's student magazine, Farrago, in the social media team. Obviously reading, writing and editing other's writing is a strong skill of mine in this role!

Hope to hear from you soon,
Siobhan.

Achievements

  • Bachelor of Arts (Major in English Literature/Theatre Studies and Geography)
  • Admission to Melbourne Graduate School of Education
  • Working for Farrago magazine
  • H2A GPA in Bachelor of Arts

Education

Year 12 completed in 2014.
Mark achieved: 91.00.
Currently studying Master of Teaching (Secondary) at University of Melbourne.

Interests

  • Reading
  • Writing
  • Travelling
  • Spending time with friends and family
  • Going to the beach
  • Walking my border collie
  • Watching the footy
  • Riding my bike
  • Vegetarian and vegan cooking

Reviews

Character references

Availability

Around Elsternwick

Sunday 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM
Monday 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Tuesday 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Wednesday 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Thursday 3:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Friday 6:00 PM - 9:00 PM
Saturday 9:00 AM - 9:00 PM

Around Parkville