Ben C
Tutoring near Golden Bay, Perth, WA


I graduated from the University of Nottingham with a 1st class honors degree in Biology in 2008. Since then I have worked as a Microbiologist and later as a Science teacher in the UK. I really enjoyed teaching, but found the work-life balance and behavior management to be a challenge, so I left the profession after a year. In 2018, my wife and I moved to Australia, now that we have a family, I'm looking to start tutoring so I can work around my home life. I'm passionate about Science and Biology in general. I find it really rewarding to help students understand the subject.

When first tutoring a new student I like to start with getting a clear understanding of what the goals and objectives are. From teaching I've learnt that it's important to treat pupils as individuals and tailor lessons to what suits their learning style (visual, auditory and kinesthetic). A key part of teaching is reviewing and checking on progress, I like to get feedback from students at the end of each lesson to see how they feel they are progressing. Where possible I try to make lessons fun and relevant to students lives.


University of Exeter (U.K), Post Graduate Certificate of Education, Secondary Science, 2010.

University of Nottingham (U.K), BSc (hons) Biology, first, 2008.

Wellsway School (U.K). A level. Biology (A), Chemistry (A), Geography (A), 2005. ATAR score equivalent = 98.


  • Hiking and the Outdoors. Rugby Union
  • Rugby Union


Character references


Around Golden Bay

Sunday 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Monday 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Tuesday 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Wednesday 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Thursday 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Friday 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Saturday 8:00 AM - 6:00 PM

Travel policy

I am able to travel up to 20 km from Golden Bay. Over 10 km would be charged at $50 per hour due to travel costs.