Brynna H Very responsive
Tutoring near Paddington, Sydney, NSW & Rose Bay, Sydney, NSW


About

Hi, I'm Brynna! I graduated from Ascham in 2017 with an ATAR of 99.70 and am in my third year studying Commerce/Law at USyd, currently maintaining a Distinction average

I am a friendly, enthusiastic and reliable tutor with 3 years of experience tutoring students from early high school to the HSC, all with different needs and requests. I create a comfortable environment for students by starting with a short conversation consultation prior to a session to ensure that I am aware of their content, strengths and weaknesses. This is important so that I am familiar with their work so we can manage our time most effectively from the get go.

While maintaining a highly active student life, playing in the Uni Orchestra and being a part of various societies, tutoring is still a high priority and passion of mine. I not only wish to help my students in their subjects but also to make a positive difference to each of my students' learning experience. I work to make my teaching clear and logical by catering my teaching to each student's individual needs including giving advice for exam preparation. By encouraging reflection, I assist students in becoming more confident identifying and communicating their weaknesses.

In general, with younger students, I provide a more structured session, allocating tasks to students such as questions, teaching content, giving short quizzes and exercises in maths or for english, spelling, comprehension, creative writing and persuasive writing.

For older students, I adopt a more student driven progression, starting by identifying recent concerns and reflecting on recent content. For English this is followed by delving into the syllabus, and assisting with planning and concepts crucial to the course. In maths we focus on content specific questions, exercises, and question techniques through clear demonstration and practice. When tutoring maths, I ensure that the teaching I provide is directed towards both exam technique and building foundational understandings of concepts, helping with questions and theory as well as building efficiency in working. I am familiar with applying structured thought processes to high school maths to simplify concepts. I frequently provide resources and assign weekly tasks for students when appropriate and helpful!

Available weekends and afternoons/evenings. I'm currently offering online tutoring via Skype, FaceTime or Zoom using a webcam/screen-sharing and Google Docs (though this is subject to change in the foreseeable future depending on circumstances). In the past I have usually travelled to libraries (not currently open) or to students' houses near me. Feel free to contact me for marking and feedback which I offer from $20-$30. Please also contact me if you are wondering how else I can be of assistance or have any questions!

SUBJECTS:

Years 11-12: English Standard, English Advanced, English Extension 1, Standard Maths, Advanced Mathematics, Mathematics Extension 1, Music 1, Music 2
Year 7-10: English, Mathematics, Sciences (Particularly Chemistry and Physics), Essay writing, Creative writing.

I am also familiar with the new advanced and standard maths syllabi which was implemented in 2018.

HSC MARKS:

English Advanced: 94/100
English Extension: 47/50
Mathematics Extension 1: 97/100 (99/100 externally)
Mathematics Extension 2: 88/100
Chemistry: 88/100
Music 2: 98/100
Music Extension: 50/50

Education

Year 12 completed in 2017.
Mark achieved: 99.70 (verified).
Currently studying Bachelor of Commerce/Bachelor of Laws at The University of Sydney.

Reviews

Character references

Availability

Around Paddington

Around Rose Bay

Travel policy

Currently offering tutoring exclusively online